Balance Me Rose Otto Body Wash Review

20131121-200631.jpg

I recently purchased the Balance Me Rose Otto Body Wash as part of the You Beauty Limited Edition beauty box that was available in October. This was one product in particular that I was excited to try as I wanted an SLS free body wash to use on an evening that would aid calm and relaxation. I use my Bodhi Pep Noir wash in a morning but given it’s energising properties this isn’t one I would use on an evening.

Balance Me state that “our gently foaming, sulphate free body wash is heavenly scented, luxuriously moisturising and deeply soothing. The bespoke blend of skin-quenching essential oils; rose otto, palma rosa and mood-balancing rose geranium oils are perfect for sensitive, dry or more mature skins.This wash will gently cleanse your skin leaving it feeling more supple and smooth whilst the light and calming floral fragrance soothes your mood.”

The ingredients are as follows:

INGREDIENTS: Aqua, Sodium cocoamphoacetate, Cocamidopropyl betaine, Lauryl glucoside, Disodium lauryl sulfosuccinate, Coco glucoside, Glyceryl oleate, Aloe barbadensis (aloe vera) leaf extract***, Rosa damascena (rose otto)*, Pelargonium roseum asperum (rose geranium)*, Cymbopogon martini (palma rosa)*, Citrus aurantium bergamia (bergamot)*, Cananga odorata (ylang ylang)*, Salvia sclarea (clary sage)*, Sorbitan sesquicaprylate, Dehydroacetic acid, Benzyl alcohol, Citric acid, Potassium sorbate, Citronellol**, Geraniol**, Linalool**, Limonene**, citral**, benzyl salicylate**, benzyl benzoate**, farnesol**, *natural pure essential oil **naturally occurring in essential oils ***certified organic ingredient

As such all in all I really expected to like this product. It’s natural, SLS and nasties free AND contains one of my favourite fragrances – rose.

Balance Me clearly state the level or natural products on each item they sell. In this case the Rose Otto Body Wash contains 99% of its ingredients from natural origins. Now there is no strict definition of ‘natural’ that companies must apply so read this as you will but personally I think that Balance Me are a very trustworthy company and pride themselves on their ingredient selection. They promise on all products:

20131121-200926.jpg

As such when they say 99% natural origin I trust they are using this terminology responsibly.

The things I like about this product are mainly around its cleansing abilities. I tend to find that more natural washes do not foam as much as chemical laden cleansers. Whilst this isn’t necessarily a bad thing, my brain is programmed to equate a good lather with a good clean. The Rose Otto wash doesn’t disappoint on this front and produces a plentiful bubbly lather. It also leaves my skin feeling balanced and not stripped.

My main gripe with this product however
and one I can’t quite get my head around is the fragrance it releases when lathering. The sweeter rose fragrance is replaced with what I can only describe as a more ‘synthetic cleanser smell’. It doesn’t smell of a rose scent that I would expect and has if I’m honest put me off using this. It would be unfair to say this smells ‘chemically’, but I struggle to find another word which is as apt.

This product has won numerous awards and is loved by many, so maybe it’s just my personal taste but I would highly recommend seeing if you can get a sample of this before committing to buying the full size. I personally have stopped using this and have given it to a friend for them to try.

You can read more and buy the 260ml bottle for £12.25 here:

https://www.balanceme.co.uk/bath-body/product-family/rose-otto/rose-otto-body-wash/

4 comments

Leave a Comment