The London Oil Company Sweet Cheeks Facial Oil Review

20131116-140127.jpg

Hold your horses…I think I’ve found the perfect daytime facial oil for combination and oily skin – and I would not make that claim lightly.

As part of my quest to make my skincare routine that bit more natural and skin friendly, I have found that my skin absolutely loves balms and oils. However, a daywear facial oil for a combination skin that doesn’t make your skin look greasy is hard to come by (trust me – I’ve searched and searched).

The London Oil Company kindly offered to send me a couple of their products to try out. The London Oil Company is an artisan business based in London’s Primrose Hill. All their products are hand blended in small batches; offering a small range of skincare, body and home products.

I was sent a bottle of the Sweet Cheeks facial oil to review as pictured above. The oil is a golden orange colour and is quite thin in consistency. It’s ingredients are as follows:

Ingredients: Organic Unrefined Avocado Oil, Apricot Kernel Oil, Organic Rosehip Seed Oil, Sea Buckthorn Oil, Organic Unrefined Jojoba Oil, Coffee Essential Oil.

I had read the ingredients list before reading the narrative on the product. As such I had assumed this was a restorative night time oil given the extensively moisturising ingredients of avocado oil, apricot kern and rosehip. To my logic, all three of these oils together would lead to a rather heavy finish and so I first used this on an evening after thoroughly cleansing. The oil contains coffee essential oil and so unsurprisingly smells just like a cup of black coffee. Considering I’ve cut coffee out of my diet, the smell is a welcome addition to my routine! As you can see from the list, this is a very simple and refined oil but still uses some of natures most potent and nutrient dense oils.

To my surprise…the oil sank into my skin within seconds. There was a very very slight sheen to my skin which soon faded to a completely matte finish. A matte finish??? From an oil??

I kid you not. I still don’t understand how but have just come to accept that this is bloody good stuff.

After reading The London Oil Company Website, I discovered that they actually recommend yo use this oil in a morning!

This makes me very happy indeed. Finally – a non greasy facial oil with fantastic ingredients that will deeply nourish and hydrate whilst not leaving the skin oily! Furthermore, the oil contains jojoba oil, an oil that most closely matches to our own sebum. As such when applied, this allows your skin to ‘feel’ hydrated and as such leads to a lower oil production (some studies do disagree with this however I find it works for me). I therefore found my skin stays matte wearing this, together with my Murad Oil Control SPF 15 lotion for THE WHOLE DAY. I use the pipette to place 3 drops on my hand, warm in my palms and apply to my face and neck. I find 3 drops the perfect amount. If I use 4 it can leave my face a little greasy.

20131116-142138.jpg

With the winter days getting colder, I have not felt any need to apply heavier creams or use products not suited to my oily skin. This really ticks so many boxes for me – I’m just so happy I’ve had the opportunity to try it.

As an added bonus due to the high concentration of the deep amber coloured Sea Buckthorn oil, you will be left with a sunkissed glow after application. I have had many compliments since using this saying I look healthy and fresh faced and can only put it down to this.

Best of all, this is available in a range of sizes starting at £10 for 10ml which means you don’t have to spend a fortune to give it a try. You can get larger sizes up to £30 for 60ml – still cheap compared to many oils.

A well deserved 10/10 from Nu|sk|n blog – love love love.

You can find out more about this product here:

http://www.thelondonoilcompany.co.uk/products/sweet-cheeks

*PR Sample. Views expressed are my own. No affiliation

3 comments

  1. Great blog and fab post!

    I’m from Oqibo Professional Skincare and we talk to clients and customers almost daily on this issue. Oils are the perfect partner, particularly for combinations and oily complexions. So many of us forget that lipids are vital to effective skin function and balance. Finding the right product with the correct balance of ingredients is essential but the results are amazing … super nourished, healthy and radiant skin!

    Oil cleansing or pre-cleansing is perfect for lifting heavy make-up or environmental dirt and grime. Concentrated oil formulas can be added to your usual daily hydrator to offer extra protection and nourishment and day or night creams that are oil rich will keep skin in tip top condition.

    Thanks for the very wise words!
    N

Leave a Comment