Estee Lauder Advanced Night Repair II Review

Update – I have just been reliably informed that this serum does contain a paraben – something I was not aware of when writing the review. I know this may put some people off but in the interest of full disclosure I wanted to make you aware of this.

One of my more recent purchases has bee the Estee Lauder Advanced Night Repair II. This line is one of Estee Lauder’s best selling products and has recently had a bit of a face lift from its predecessor which had a complete cult status across the globe. I am not sure how true this is but apparently a bottle was sold somewhere in the world every 8.5 seconds – pretty impressive huh? (I am sure I have read this on many blogs but don’t take my word for it)

photo 1So…what makes it so great? Estee (now we are not on a first name basis) claim:

• Lines and wrinkles look significantly reduced. More than 75% of women felt their skin looked more youthful.*

• Skin feels smoother, hydrated, stronger. 82% of women felt their skin was immediately hydrated.**

• Skin looks younger, radiant, more translucent and even toned. 83% of women felt their skin looked healthier, fresher, more rested.*

• Effective for all ethnicities.

*Consumer testing on 524 women for 4 weeks.

**Consumer testing – so this bit is completely judgmental

Well, it still has the same ingredients on its older sister so nothing has been taken away. For those of you who are a ANR devotee hopefully this will bring you some light relief. I know there are many out there that have used ANR on a daily basis for years and years so to hear the news of ANR II must have been quite a shock.

However it is what has been added which adds more intigue – the product has had a number of ingredients added to help in essence clean the skin from the inside out through a process called Catabolysis Technology (oo err). If you’re anything like me – you’ll have no idea what that mean to. The lovely Ruth however at A Model Recommends hits the nail on the head stating its’ “how fast the skin can renew itself and chuck out, for want of a better word, the crap.”

There is also added hyularonic acid which if you have read my Aveda Intensive Hydrating Masque post – I have discussed the many benefits this has on the skin.

photo 3

The serum comes in a brown plastic (which is somewhat disappointing as for the price I was expecting glass) bottle with a pipette. It looks the biz and if you are like me and have your skincare on display – its a beautiful addition to any bathroom shelf.

The smell of this is really hard to describe. I want to say clinical but that wouldn’t be fair. Let’s put it this way – it dosen’t smell of roses but smells as though it is going to work and ‘sciencey’. The texture is thicker than an oil but lighter than a gel.

So – does it work?

Yes. In a word. Yes. I have been using this now for around two months. I use this after toning and before applying my night oil and moisturiser of choice. In doing so, I notice that the next morning my skin appears visibly plumped, fine lines are (temporarily) reduced and my skin looks hydrated and healthier. I also find that if I am a bit spotty, using this really helps reduce the redness and heal the spot quicker than normal.

The ingredients in this are:

1.0 oz WATER\AQUA\EAU, BIFIDA FERMENT LYSATE, METHYL GLUCETH-20, PEG-75, BUTYLENE GLYCOL, BIS-PEG-18 METHYL ETHER DIMETHYL SILANE, ARABIDOPSIS THALIANA EXTRACT, TRIPEPTIDE-32, ETHYLHEXYL METHOXYCINNAMATE, LACTOBACILLUS FERMENT, COLA ACUMINATA (KOLA) EXTRACT, RETINYL PALMITATE, PANTETHINE, CAFFEINE, GLYCERETH-26, SODIUM RNA, SQUALANE, OLETH-3 PHOSPHATE, OLETH-3, OLETH-5, BISABOLOL, CHOLETH-24, CETETH-24, HYDROGENATED LECITHIN, ANTHEMIS NOBILIS (CHAMOMILE), SODIUM HYALURONATE, TOCOPHERYL ACETATE, LECITHIN, XANTHAN GUM, TEA-CARBOMER, TRISODIUM EDTA, BHT, PHENOXYETHANOL, METHYLPARABEN, BENZYL ALCOHOL, GREEN 5 (CI 61570), YELLOW 5 (CI 19140), RED 4 (CI 14700)

I recognise water. That’s about it.

photo 2

Would I buy again? I would – however I am on the look out for a more natural alternative but until I find something that works as well I will be buying again.

I purchased mine from Debenhams for £48 for a 30ml bottle. As you may be able to see from the picture, I have used something like 1/3 of the bottle so have a good 4-5 months of it left. Not too bad when you put it like that.

You can get your ANR II here:

http://www.esteelauder.co.uk/product/8241/26959/Product-Catalog/Skincare/Collections/Advanced-Night-Repair/Advanced-Night-Repair/Synchronized-Recovery-Complex-II/index.tmpl

Or – if you’re near a bigger Boots store they also sell it

* Own purchase. No affiliation

Blogs Mentioned

http://www.amodelrecommends.com

Leave a Comment